Already miss a toll? No problem. For up to 14 days after youve traveled, you can now enter your vehicle and payment information into the Pay By Plate system, and youll have the peace of mind knowing youll avoid added fines and fees.
How do I pay a toll I missed in Illinois?
You can set that up online at www.illinoistollway.com/unpaid-tolls. If you still need help or have additional questions, you can call the Tollways Customer Service Call Center at 800-UC-IPASS (800-824-7277).
What happens if you drive through a toll without paying in Illinois?
Currently, a $20 fine is assessed for each unpaid toll if left unpaid. That penalty escalates by another $50 if the notice remains unpaid for an additional 60 days. For example, a single trip with five unpaid tolls could cost a passenger vehicle owner more than $100 plus toll costs.
Can you go through I-PASS and pay later?
“Cash customers should drive through and pay later online. Customers can pay either via I-PASS, E-ZPass or online.”
How do I pay Illinois tolls after 14 days?
PAY BY PLATECustomers have a 14-day grace period – the longest in the nation – to pay unpaid tolls. Set up Pay By Plate - Simply add your plate, payment method and dates of travel and youre all set. No transponder is necessary, and customers are charged the cash rate – no fees and no fines.Feb 26, 2021
How long does it take for Illinois tolls to show up online?
Tolls may take up to 30 days to show on Pay By Plate. Depending on when you travel, tolls may not all show on Pay By Plate in the same week; thus, you may be charged in separate transactions.
What happens if you dont pay Illinois tolls within 14 days?
Drivers who miss tolls can avoid fees by paying online within 14 days. After that two-week period, customers with unpaid tolls will be mailed an invoice with a $3 fee per toll, and will get another notice after 30 days. After 60 days, a third notice will be sent with the fee increasing to $5 per toll, the Tollway said.
Can you get pulled over for unpaid tolls in Illinois?
Penalties for Not Paying Tolls in Illinois Failure to pay the tolls may be considered a traffic violation, and it can result in costly fines and even a drivers license suspension in some cases. Drivers who miss paying a toll typically have a seven-day grace period to pay them online.
Can your license be suspended for unpaid tolls in Illinois?
Tollway Violations/Evasions – A persons drivers license may be suspended for failure to satisfy fines or penalties for five or more toll violations or evasions. More information is available through the Illinois State Toll Highway Authority.
How much does pass cost?
Illinoiss I-Pass system costs $30 to obtain, a $10 refundable deposit and $20 prepaid tolls. The minimum balance is $20, and the account auto-replenishes 10% of the average monthly usage or a minimum of $10. There is no annual fee for the I-Pass.
How do I get an I-Pass?
You can open a new I-PASS account online at www. illinoistollway.com, on the phone at 1-800-UC-IPASS (800-824- 7277), in person at a Customer Service Center or one of nearly 200 Jewel-Osco locations in Northern Illinois or by mail. Please complete this application and sign the I-PASS Agreement.
Will Illinois send a bill for tolls?
Invoices will be sent via U.S. Mail and will include an invoicing fee for each unpaid toll. If youve received an invoice, click below to enter the payment portal to quickly and easily pay the unpaid tolls online using the assigned invoice number. Customers are able to do the following: Pay any invoice.
How do I pay Illinois tolls by phone?
Call 800-UC-IPASS (800-824-7277).
How long do you have to pay tolls in Illinois?
14 days Drivers on the Illinois Tollway system are required to pay unpaid tolls online. Customers who do not have I-PASS are required to pay their missed tolls online within 14 days. Click below to learn how to pay your unpaid tolls online. If you have received an invoice, you may also pay the invoice directly with the link.
How much is an Illinois toll violation?
The cost reductions offered by the violation relief program bring the cost of outstanding violation notices in line with the new fee structure in TOLLING 2020, which will continue to assess drivers a $3 fee for each unpaid toll on a passenger vehicle.
Whats the difference between E-ZPass and I-PASS?
I-PASS and E-ZPass are completely integrated, so your I-PASS can be used to pay tolls not only on the Illinois Tollway, but also in other states that accept E-ZPass, including Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and 13 other states that are part of the E-ZPass network. Same goes for your family and friends who have E-ZPass.
What is the best state to get an E-ZPass?
New Hampshire The best choice for us is to purchase an E-Z Pass from New Hampshire. The state charges $8.90 per tag and requires a minimum $30 deposit as prepaid tolls into your account, up to two tags.
Do you have to pay tolls in Illinois right now?
Drivers on the Illinois Tollway system are required to pay unpaid tolls online. Customers who do not have I-PASS are required to pay their missed tolls online within 14 days.
Can I pay cash for tolls in Illinois?
Cash is not accepted. Drivers should use an I-PASS, E-ZPass or pay tolls online within seven days.
How do you get an E-ZPass violation waived?
The correct way to get the fees waived is to send E-Z Pass a brief dispute dispute (return receipt requested) along with your payment by check.